• Home
  • Health
  • Why Raspberries Are Not Considered Kosher

Why Raspberries Are Not Considered Kosher

My friend moved to Israel about 10 years ago. But now our friendship is even stronger. We often talk on the phone and visit each other. She recently surprised me with the news that raspberries are no longer sold in Israel because they are not considered a kosher food.

It turns out that there is a whole list of banned foods. But these restrictions apply only to Orthodox Jews. This does not mean that the berries are not available to other residents. Let’s figure out why they are banned at all.

Why Raspberries Are Not Considered Kosher

This month, the media announced the decision of the Chief Rabbinate of Israel to recognize raspberries as non-kosher. In this regard, it was forbidden to sell fresh and frozen raspberries in kosher stores. The ban also includes food products that contain whole raspberries. For example, jam.

What caused this strange decision? As you may know, according to Jewish rules, it is forbidden to eat insects and seafood. Therefore, in kosher stores, you won’t find fish without scales and fins, shrimp, mussels, and caviar.

Insects Are the Main Reason

But if you can just not eat seafood, insects are too small. Jews should carefully examine food before consuming it. This is what mashgiach does. Mashgiah is a qualified person who inspects the establishments. Only after his approval, it is considered kosher.

According to Israeli newspapers, in recent years, insects have been frequently found in raspberries. That is why whole berries were banned. After all, to see an insect, you need to damage the integrity of the berry.

As for preserves and jams, in large industries, the presence of an insect in a berry may be overlooked. After all, manually sorting through all the foods is too long and costly, and the machine is not so scrupulous in this matter.

Who Can Eat the Berries and Where To Buy Them

By the way, Israelis can still buy whole raspberries and products from them in non-kosher stores. There they, like other products, are sold without any restrictions. Orthodox Jews can consume processed raspberries, for example, in desserts. Because the cook always checks the berry before using it.

Israel is a country of contrasts. Whoever visited it at least once had many opportunities to be convinced of that. Do you know what else is prohibited in Israel? What restrictions surprise you the most? Share your opinion with us and other readers!


Like many people nowadays, I love to explore new places. My favorite type is slow travelling, when you can really blend in with locals and learn about new cultures and languages. But I think there are also perfect times for enjoying freshly baked pastry, a cup of fragrant coffee, and a good movie in the comfort of your own home. I guess I'm kind of a cultural omnivore, and I watch different types of movies, but the ones about art and food inspire me the most!

38 Comments Hide Comments

Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for rookie blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

What i don’t understood is in truth how you’re no longer really much more neatly-preferred than you may be now. You’re very intelligent. You already know therefore significantly on the subject of this topic, produced me for my part imagine it from numerous various angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be fascinated unless it is something to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs nice. At all times deal with it up!

Valuable information. Lucky me I found your web site by accident, and I am shocked why this accident didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

These days of austerity plus relative panic about taking on debt, a lot of people balk contrary to the idea of employing a credit card in order to make purchase of merchandise or even pay for a vacation, preferring, instead just to rely on the actual tried and also trusted means of making transaction – hard cash. However, if you possess the cash on hand to make the purchase entirely, then, paradoxically, that’s the best time to be able to use the card for several good reasons.

Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

Enjoyed examining this, very good stuff, thankyou . “All of our dreams can come true — if we have the courage to pursue them.” by Walt Disney.

Great – I should definitely pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, site theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task..

Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your web-site is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the info I already searched all over the place and just could not come across. What a perfect web site.

hello!,I really like your writing very much! percentage we communicate extra approximately your article on AOL? I need an expert in this house to solve my problem. May be that’s you! Having a look ahead to look you.

I must voice my affection for your kindness for those people who have the need for guidance on this particular concept. Your special dedication to getting the solution throughout came to be wonderfully beneficial and have continually allowed workers like me to realize their goals. Your new useful instruction signifies this much a person like me and further more to my fellow workers. Many thanks; from everyone of us.

My husband and i felt absolutely peaceful that Peter managed to conclude his inquiry through the entire ideas he received using your web site. It is now and again perplexing to just always be giving for free secrets that many some other people could have been selling. Therefore we discover we have got the website owner to thank for that. The type of explanations you made, the simple site menu, the relationships your site make it possible to foster – it’s everything incredible, and it’s letting our son and our family reason why this matter is enjoyable, which is extremely essential. Thank you for the whole thing!

I?m impressed, I need to say. Really rarely do I encounter a weblog that?s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not sufficient persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very comfortable that I stumbled throughout this in my search for something relating to this.

Yet another issue is that video games usually are serious anyway with the most important focus on learning rather than amusement. Although, it has an entertainment element to keep your young ones engaged, every single game is normally designed to focus on a specific skill set or area, such as instructional math or research. Thanks for your article.

Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your website is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched everywhere and just could not come across. What a perfect website.

Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!

It?s really a great and useful piece of info. I?m glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

I’m often to blogging and i really respect your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and maintain checking for brand new information.

In the awesome design of things you get a B- just for effort. Exactly where you actually lost me personally was first in all the particulars. You know, people say, the devil is in the details… And it could not be more true in this article. Having said that, let me reveal to you what did do the job. The article (parts of it) is definitely rather engaging and this is possibly why I am taking an effort in order to comment. I do not make it a regular habit of doing that. 2nd, whilst I can see a jumps in reason you make, I am not necessarily confident of how you appear to unite the points that help to make the actual final result. For right now I will, no doubt subscribe to your position but trust in the foreseeable future you actually connect the dots better.

I have recently started a blog, the info you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

hey there and thanks in your information ? I have definitely picked up something new from proper here. I did then again experience a few technical points the use of this site, since I experienced to reload the website many times prior to I may just get it to load properly. I were brooding about in case your web hosting is OK? Now not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes impact your placement in google and can harm your high quality rating if advertising and ***********|advertising|advertising|advertising and *********** with Adwords. Well I?m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can glance out for much extra of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

you may have an excellent blog here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my blog?

It?s really a great and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Comments are closed.